Soil Judging has a long history at NC State, beginning in 1960 and continuing until present.

NC State Soil Judging Alumni, if you have information not listed here or photos you would like to share from past contests, we would be grateful if you let us know.


  • E.F. Goldston (1960-1966)
  • Louis Aull (1967-1975)
  • Joe Kleiss (1976-2010)
  • David Lindbo (2011-2014)
  • Mike Vepraskas (2017)
  • Matt Ricker (2018-Present)

To date, NC State has won the Regional Contest 5 times and qualified for 28 National Contests.

For a more complete history see the following:

More detailed history of NC State Soil Judging: NCState_SJing_History

NC State Historical Soil Judging Photos